New National Curriculum

The Department for Education published a new National Curriculum in September 2014, which we follow at Cirencester Primary School. 


The new curriculum included some changes to what subjects need to be taught, for example cooking and Modern foreign languages were made compulsory, as well as the content within these subjects. Some subjects have changed more than others, the most noticeable changes being to History and Computing. Please see the document below if you wish to find out more.

Primary National Curriculum
Primary National Curriculum.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [1.9 MB]

The new curriculum also contained changes to how children’s attainment is assessed, with the old national curriculum levels (for example 3c, 5b etc) being abolished. Instead there is a set of learning objectives for reading, writing and maths in each year group and children will be assessed as to whether they have met these objectives during the year.


The following subjects are included within our topics and have been matched to the new curriculum to ensure the coverage of skills and knowledge set out in the new framework: Science, History, Geography, Computing, Design and technology and Art and design. Please see the link on the left to read about our Modern foreign language teaching.

Curriculum Overview
Years 1 - 6
Adobe Acrobat document [699.7 KB]
Site last updated 04.05.17
Print Print | Sitemap
© Cirencester Primary School